The open window

With spring fast approaching and the weather reminding me of it already, I find myself ready to open the windows of my home. Let the fresh air, the songs of the birds, and the smell of spring flowers into the rooms.

Sigh…It’s too early. I know, but it’s got me thinking about being open in life. Like the window, it can let in the good things the world has to offer, yet it can also let in the bad.

 Obviously you wouldn’t want the window to be open during a torrential rain or wind storm. Dust, dirt, and water filling the rooms is a strict, no, no, but when you open a window in life, is it a risk you take?

Like writing a book for example, I’m opening myself up to the public, showing them my creativity at a large-scale. I’m sure some people will love it, but I’m also very sure some people won’t.

 Criticism can hurt, we all know that, but that’s the name of the game. When you open a window, you open it to what ever may come and hopefully most criticism will be constructive.

 Okay maybe that’s asking too much but either way, I think one has to take the good and the bad with a grain of salt. My writing might sound genius to one person and like a load of crap to the next, yet neither of these people would be wrong.

 I can hear the gasp already but listen up, it’s kind of like the saying “beauty is in the eye of the beholder.”  Not everyone is going to think you or your work is great, you defiantly can’t please everyone. One person may give you a rave review giving you confidence galore while someone else comes along and cuts you off at the knees…it’s tough, there’s no doubt about that. The trick is to use this knowledge to your benefit.

 So I know what you’re thinking, ‘if it rains just shut the window?’

 Right? Well maybe, if it’s an actual window but as far as criticism is concerned I’m not so sure if one should shut it all out. Heck, it may help you grow stronger in writing or whatever venture you are trying to accomplish. One thing is certain, we may not see ourselves or our work as others see it. We’re too close to the project or looking at it through an emotional lens. Sometime criticism is the only thing that may give us a better looking-glass at our own work.

 Lets keep this in mind the next time someone gives you something to think about, good or bad…and remember try to be your own open window.

 

2 thoughts on “The open window

  1. Great post…and so true. We have to face a whole lot of bad with the good in writing. Sometimes it feels like the scales are feather versus a boulder. I think it makes us a better writer in the end.

    • Erin Bluett says:

      It def feels like that. No doubt that’s why we need support from other writers. You have inspired me in many ways including the content of my next post!I’ll let you know when it’s up…

Leave a Reply

