Two, the luckiest number?

So what does it take to write a book? Since coming clean with my alter ego this is a question I have been asked repeatedly. Well the answer isn’t as easy as one might think but this is what I’ve come up with. It takes two things, for me at least.

One, was determination.

I was getting published. No matter what it took, I was going to see this through.

Yeah okay, there were moments of complete insanity. Breakdowns, where I considered this to be a fools mission but I pushed through the moments of ‘this is crazy’ and moved forward. I mean I had to, right? The book wasn’t going to write itself. Fortunately, an idea came to me: surround yourself with other aspiring authors.  This was a, capital H-uge plus. To find other authors, determined to keep me on the path of ‘writeousness,’ was more than a light bulb moment. Central New York Romance Writers, keep me grounded, motivated, and inspired. A girl couldn’t ask for more.

The second thing….imagination!

Who remembers playing with their stuffed animals, dolls, G.I. joes…etc, and so forth?

For those of you that can’t see me right now, I’m raising my right hand, and pointing at the rest of you with my left. Yes, you know who you are, you did it too. Such a natural instinct, to create and dream. Yet somewhere along the lines, as adults, we start to lose that ability to believe in creativity.  For some, this never happens and for me…I was one of the lucky ones.

Although some days, I get into a game of tug of war with my creativity. I mean, it’s not easy to create an alternate reality when the one in front of you is waving red flags. Examples of this would be, oh lets see…work, grocery shopping, laundry….I could go on and on but I won’t. Y’all get the idea. Stress equals writers block.

BUT….there is a but here. I know one thing is for certain. No matter how old we get, no matter what is standing in the way of our dreams, if you stay young at heart and are determined to accomplish your goals than nothing can stand in your way. Nothing.

That’s what it took for me to finish my novel and that’s what it will take for me to maintain my dream. Now this I ask you…What will it take for you to accomplish yours?

7 thoughts on “Two, the luckiest number?

  1. Half the battle is pushing through and finishing your book. You’ve already done that.

    And our dreams fuel us. The non-writers totally don’t get us, but thank goodness we have a great community to help us out there.

  2. Janina says:

    Determination and imagination brings forth manifestation! Nice page. I don’t know what I’m doing with my wordpress page either, hence why has stalled. Looking forward to meeting you at the next CNYRW meeting! Good luck!
    Janina Grey

  3. Nona Raines says:

    It’s so easy to let real life’s demands keep us from pursuing our dreams. Fear keeps us down, too. Fear that we won’t succeed and maybe fear that we will!

    It’s a great post. Thanks for being so honest!

  4. If the truth be known, there are days when I’m tempted to pull out my Barbies and play again.

Leave a Reply

